Welcome to Singapore's

National Quantum Computing Hub

The National Quantum Computing Hub in Singapore is building capabilities, community, and collaborations to enter the next era of computing.

Quantum computers have the potential to outperform today’s supercomputers in speed and energy efficiency because they handle data in wholly new ways. They may also bring a real quantum advantage: solving hard problems in fields from finance to chemistry that today’s supercomputers simply cannot.

The National Quantum Computing Hub is a joint initiative of the Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT) at the National University of Singapore, the Institute of High Performance Computing (IHPC) at the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) and the National Supercomputing Centre (NSCC) Singapore. The Hub is supported by Singapore’s Quantum Engineering Programme, A*STAR and NSCC.

Ways to engage

Access

We put quantum computing at researchers’ fingertips and provide supercomputing power to develop quantum algorithms.

Collaborate

We seek collaborators to join us in making quantum computing work for Singapore and the world. ​

Learn

Companies complain of a quantum talent shortage. We will provide courses to help motivated learners meet job opportunities.​

Making quantum computing work for Singapore and the world

What we do

Applications

Quantum computers have the potential to offer tremendous improvements in performance for computational problems in chemistry, finance, supply chain management, healthcare, and other fields. The Hub will connect industry partners to researchers with expertise in quantum algorithms, simulation, optimisation and machine learning to pursue practical quantum advantages.

Middleware

Quantum computers need a sophisticated software stack to transform high-level code to physical actions on qubits. The Hub supports an open-source option called Qibo. Hub experts join an international effort to develop Qibo to run on quantum backends and as a simulator.

Hardware

The Hub offers access to commercial cloud quantum computing and local supercomputers. It will provide a quantum emulator run on local infrastructure. The hub also has the goal of providing a quantum computer in Singapore.

Our team

The National Quantum Computing Hub is led from the top of its three partner organisations. Staff from the organisations contribute to the hub’s mission across three vertical efforts in hardware, middleware and applications, and horizontal activities of talent, outreach and international collaborations.

Block graphic of NQCH structure showing three verticals (hardware, middleware, applications) and three horizontals (talent, internationalisation, outreach)

Principal Investigators

José Ignacio Latorre – Director, Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT), National University of Singapore

Su Yi – Executive Director, Institute of High Performance Computing (IHPC), A*STAR

Tan Tin Wee – Chief Executive, National Supercomputing Centre (NSCC), Singapore

Hardware

Rainer Dumke – Principal Investigator, CQT – rdumke@ntu.edu.sg

Christoph Hufnagel – Senior Research Fellow, CQT – cqtch@nus.edu.sg

Middleware

Yang Liwei – Scientist, IHPC – yang_liwei@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Stefano Carrazza – Associate Professor – stefano.carrazza@unimi.it

Applications

Ye Jun – Senior Scientist, IHPC – yej@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Dimitris Angelakis – Principal Investigator, CQT – dimitris.angelakis@nus.edu.sg

Dax Koh – Scientist, IHPC – Dax_Koh@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Talent

Berthold-Georg Englert – Principal Investigator, CQT – cqtebg@nus.edu.sg

Han Rui – Scientific Project Coordinator, CQT – han.rui@nus.edu.sg

Dai Jibo – Scientific Project Coordinator, CQT – jibo.dai@nus.edu.sg

Internationalisation

Kwek Leong Chuan – Principal Investigator, CQT – cqtklc@nus.edu.sg

Outreach

Jenny Hogan – CQT – jenny.hogan@nus.edu.sg

Judy Tan – IHPC – judy_tan@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Eugene Low – NSCC – eugene@nscc.sg

Contact us

Supported by

Photos by James Hii | Illustrations by Storyset

© National Quantum Computing Hub (NQCH) 2022