About us

Singapore’s National Quantum Computing Hub (NQCH) is building capabilities, community, and collaborations to enter the next era of computing.

NQCH pursues practical quantum advantage with initiatives to develop applications, middleware and hardware for quantum computing. It aims to work with businesses to explore solutions for their challenges. The Hub also has a programme to develop talent to meet the skills shortage in this emerging industry.

The Hub is a joint initiative of the Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT) at the National University of Singapore, the Institute of High Performance Computing (IHPC) at the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) and the National Supercomputing Centre (NSCC) Singapore. Select the logos to learn more about our founding members.

Centre for Quantum Technologies logo
A*STAR's Institite of High Performance Computing logo
National Supercomputing Centre Singapore logo

Our leadership

The National Quantum Computing Hub is led from the top of its three partner organisations. Staff from the organisations contribute to the Hub’s mission across three vertical efforts in hardware, middleware and applications, and horizontal activities of talent, outreach and international collaborations.

Quantum computing is coming. The question is not about ‘when’, but about ‘who’ will be ready to use this technology. The approach taken in Singapore is to combine the expertise from our researchers with the needed support to achieve such a mission.

José Ignacio Latorre is Director of the Centre for Quantum Technologies and Professor in the Department of Physics at the National University of Singapore. A leading figure in particle physics and quantum information, José Ignacio previously headed a research group at the Barcelona Supercomputing Center to build the first quantum processor in Spain. Prof Latorre is also Chief Researcher at the Quantum Research Centre in the Technology Innovation Institute in the United Arab Emirates and founder of Qilimanjaro, a startup in quantum computing.

Quantum computing is a revolutionary technology that promises a significant shift in how information is processed and analysed to solve complex problems traditionally limited by classical computers. We are pleased to contribute our expertise in computational science, high performance computing, artificial intelligence and optimisation.

Su Yi is the Executive Director of the Institute of High Performance Computing (IHPC), A*STAR. He leads the research institute to advance scientific knowledge and deliver impact to the industry and society through research in modelling and simulation, and Artificial Intelligence. Prior to his current role, Dr Su served as the Deputy Executive Director and the Director of Strategic Planning & Development at IHPC. He was responsible for driving organisational excellence in terms of people, structure and processes. Under his leadership, Dr Su overhauled the research planning and roadmapping processes and oversaw its implementation across all research departments at IHPC. In addition, he was instrumental in driving digitalisation where he established strong data foundation, instilled digital stewardship and setup business intelligence framework/tools to transform IHPC towards a digital-first organisation.

Supercomputers will be a key resource in accelerating quantum computing research and developing the tools and algorithms needed to support the new technology. The partnership between NSCC, IHPC and CQT reflects a whole-of-research commitment that covers the entire value chain for the development of the quantum computing ecosystem in Singapore.

Tan Tin Wee is the founding director and current Chief Executive of the National Supercomputing Centre (NSCC) Singapore, which manages Singapore’s first national petascale facility. He is an Inaugural Internet Hall of Fame inductee (2012) and an Associate Professor of the Department of Biochemistry at the National University of Singapore. He helped establish the Internet Research and Development Unit (1995) and the Bioinformatics Centre (1996) in Singapore as well as APBioNet (1998) for the Asia Pacific region. He was instrumental in establishing SingAREN (1997) and APAN (1996) for the field of advanced Internet networking. He has also spun off a number of companies, including the Technet Unit which became Pacific Internet Inc (1995). He has served as a Board Director for Keppel Data Centre REIT Management and he was the Singapore Focal Point on the Board of Advisors of the ASEAN Committee on Science, Technology and Innovation. He currently serves as a Senate member of the Management Development Institute of Singapore.

Our structure and team

Project Manager

Suen Whei Yeap – Project Manager, CQT – wysuen@nus.edu.sg


Rainer Dumke – Principal Investigator, CQT – rdumke@ntu.edu.sg

Christoph Hufnagel – Senior Research Fellow, CQT – cqtch@nus.edu.sg


Yang Liwei – Scientist, IHPC – yang_liwei@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Stefano Carrazza – Associate Professor – stefano.carrazza@unimi.it


Ye Jun – Senior Scientist, IHPC – yej@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Dax Koh – Scientist, IHPC – Dax_Koh@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Dimitris Angelakis – Principal Investigator, CQT – dimitris.angelakis@nus.edu.sg


Berthold-Georg Englert – CQT Distinguished Fellow –  cqtebg@nus.edu.sg

Dai Jibo – Scientific Project Coordinator, CQT – jibo.dai@nus.edu.sg


Kwek Leong Chuan – Principal Investigator, CQT – cqtklc@nus.edu.sg

Lau Hoong Chuin – Principal Scientist, IHPC – lau_hoong_chuin@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg


Jenny Hogan – CQT – jenny.hogan@nus.edu.sg

Judy Tan – IHPC – judy_tan@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Eugene Low – NSCC – eugene@nscc.sg

Cloud quantum computing coordinator

Patrick Rebentrost – Principal Investigator, CQT – cqtfpr@nus.edu.sg